Pension Board

Each Pension Fund in the LGPS is required to establish a Pension Board. The Board is responsible for assisting the Scheme Manager (Aberdeen City Council) in relation to compliance with Scheme regulations and the requirements of the Pensions Regulator.


Membership of the Board consists of equal numbers of trade union representatives and employer representatives:

  • Neil Stirling (GMB) - Chair
  • Councillor Stephen Smith (Aberdeenshire Council)
  • Morag Lawrence (Unison)/Kenny Luke - substitute
  • Alan Walker (Unite)
  • Gordon Walters (UCATT)
  • Councillor Jessica Mennie (Aberdeen City Council)/Councillor Neil Copland - substitute
  • Vacant (The Moray Council)
  • Ian Hodgson (FirstGroup)

Detailed terms of reference are reviewed annually by the Pensions Committee and detailed delegations are contained in the Fund's Governance Policy Statement.


Meetings & Annual Report

The Pensions Board sits with the Pension Committee at their quarterly meetings which address matters such as risk management, administration, funding, investment strategy and performance. 

In addition, the Pensions Board has its own individual annual meeting whereby they review their activity over previous 12 months and inspect the Pension Board's Annual Report.

This site uses cookies to enhance your experience. By using our website you consent to our use of cookies.

Privacy policy